History of the Institute

 By resolution of the Central Committee of the CPSU and the USSR Council of Ministers inthe Semipalatinsk region in 1947 was created the polygon, where the period of 1949-1989 were tested nuclear weapons.

As a result of these tests, the settlements adjacent to the area of the polygon, for many years have been affected by radioactive contamination. To control the radiation-hygienic situation and to estimate the health of the population, in March 1957 in Semipalatinsk was opened specialized confidential medical institution - Dispensary №4 of MoH of the USSR. In 1967 it was renamed in “Antibrucellar Dispensary” № 4 of MoH of the USSR. In 1989 was renamed in Radiological clinic of MoH of the USSR.   

Clinic was operating as classified “Top Secret”. There were forbidden any contact with the Military Departments, presiding activity of STS.

After the disintegration of the USSR, by the Decree of President N.A. Nazarbayev № 409 in 29.08.1991 was closed the Semipalatinsk nuclear test site.

In August 1991, on the basis of the clinic, there was created the Institute of Radiation Medicine and Ecology of the MoH of the Kazakh SSR.

On the basis of the Resolution of the Government of the RK № 1335 of 25.12.1998 Institute of Radiation Medicine and Ecology MoH of the RK was reorganized into the RSBSE “Scientific-Research Institute for Radiation Medicine and Ecology”.

 

nii

 

From 1957 to 1960 Clinic № 4 of MoH of the USSR headed by Katkova A.N. Under her supervision, was set up mobile group of radiation and hygienic department, whose task was to select environmental objects and local foods for the subsequent evaluation of their nuclear fission products content.

From 1960 to 1962 chief medical officer of Clinic № 4 becomes Smirnov A.A. Under his supervision, there was created a medical department. Department staff carried out medical examinations of the population of different regions adjacent to the polygon. 

 

z From 1962 to 1975 - chief medical officer of antibrucellar clinic № 4 was Makerova S.I. During this period, divisions were significantly enlarged and included radiation-hygienic department, clinical department, administrative and economic department.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

erFrom 1976 to 1997 at first Clinic and then the Institute for Radiation Medicine and Ecology was headed by MD Gusev B.I. Under his supervision, there were developed the main documents containing data on numeric and age-sex structure of the groups of radiation risk and effective equivalent doses. These data allowed to prepare the project of the Law “On social protection of citizens suffered from the tests at the Semipalatinsk nuclear test site”, adopted by the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan on 18th December 1992, № 1787-XII.  

 

 

 

 

3   

From 1997 to 2001 Institute headed by MD Sekerbaev A.H. Studies on demographic and health impacts of nuclear testing were continued.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4Since 2001 – till now the director of RSBSE “Scientific-Research Institute for Radiation Medicine and Ecology” is Apsalikov K.N. doctor of medical sciences, professor. Under his leadership the Institute became the lead organization of the Ministry of Health of the Republic of Kazakhstan on issues of Radiation Medicine in Kazakhstan. The programmes on rehabilitation of the population of the Republic of Kazakhstan suffered from the nuclear weapons tests are created and developed.

История института

ins

 

Постановлением ЦК КПСС и Совета Министров СССР в Семипалатинской области в 1947 году был создан полигон, где в период 1949-1989 годов проводились испытания ядерного оружия.

В результате этих испытаний населенные пункты, прилегающие к зоне полигона, на протяжении долгих лет подвергались радиоактивному загрязнению. Для контроля над радиационно-гигиенической обстановкой и для оценки состояния здоровья населения в марте 1957 году в городе Семипалатинске было открыто специализированное секретное медицинское учреждение - Диспансер №4 МЗ СССР

В 1967 году переименован в «Противобруцеллезный диспансер» №4 МЗ СССР.

В 1989 году переименован в Радиологический диспансер МЗ СССР.

Диспансер осуществлял свою деятельность под грифом «Совершенно секретно». Были запрещены любые контакты с Военным ведомством, осуществлявшим руководство деятельностью Семипалатинского ядерного полигона (СЯП).

После распада СССР Указом Президента РК Н.А. Назарбаева №409 от 29.08.1991 г. был закрыт Семипалатинский ядерный полигон.

 

В августе 1991 года на базе Диспансера создан Институт радиационной медицины и экологии МЗ Казахской ССР.

На основании Постановления Правительства РК №1335 от 25.12.1998 г Институт радиационной медицины и экологии МЗ РК реорганизован в РГКП «Научно-исследовательский институт радиационной медицины и экологии».

nii

С 1960 по 1962 гг. главным врачом Диспансера №4 становится Смирнов А. А. Под его руководством создается медицинский отдел Диспансера. Сотрудники отдела проводят медицинские осмотры населения различных районов, прилегающих к полигону.С 1957 по1960 гг. Диспансер №4 МЗ СССР возглавляла Каткова А.Н. Под ее руководством была создана мобильная группа радиационно-гигиенического отдела, в задачи которой входили отбор объектов внешней среды и продуктов питания местного производства для последующей оценки содержания в них продуктов ядерного деления.

 

Руководители института:

 

bbn

 

С 1962 по 1975 гг. – главный врач Противобруцеллезного Диспансера №4 Макерова С. И. В этот период структурные подразделения были значительно увеличены и включали радиационно-гигиенический отдел, клиническое отделение, административно-хозяйственное отделение.

 

 

Гусев Б.И.

С 1976 по 1991 гг. сначала диспансером, а затем Институтом радиационной медицины и экологии руководил д.м.н. Гусев Б.И. Под его руководством были разработаны основные документы, содержащие сведения о численном и возрастно-половом составе групп радиационного риска и эффективных эквивалентных дозах облучения. Эти данные позволили подготовить проект закона РК "О социальной защите граждан, пострадавших, вследствие испытаний на Семипалатинском ядерном полигоне", принятого правительством РК 18.12. 1992 г., №1787-ХП

 

Секербаев А.Х.

С 1997 по 2001 гг. институт возглавляет д.м.н. Секербаев А.Х. 
Были продолжены исследования медико-демографических последствий деятельности ядерного полигона.

 

Апсаликов К.Н.

С 2001 г. - по сегодняшний день, директор РГКП "НИИ Радиационной медицины и экологии", д.м.н., профессор Апсаликов К.Н. Под его руководством институт становится головным учреждением МЗ РК по вопросам радиационной медицины в Казахстане. Разрабатываются и внедряются программы по реабилитации населения Республики Казахстан, пострадавшего в результате испытания ядерного оружия.